Don’t install Telegram 9.1.1 for macOS. Here’s Why


In this post, I explain why I recommending staying with Telegram Desktop 4.3 for macOS and not upgrading to version 9.1.1. Included with this post is a link to a YouTube video that I created.

For some reason, the Telegram developers modified the macOS user interface in version 9.1.1 where they made it very difficult or impossible to access the scroll bars on the far right side of the application. As a result of this change, you cannot scroll up to view or copy and forward messages older than the few that are visible.

In comparison, when I run Telegram using Ubuntu 22.04 on my laptop, I have no problem accessing the scroll bars.

Bottom line: Don’t upgrade your Mac to run Telegram 9.1.1 (Telegram.dmg 84.6 mb), and make sure to disable the automatic upgrade toggle switch in the Telegram 4.3 Preferences menu.

One response to “Don’t install Telegram 9.1.1 for macOS. Here’s Why”

  1. I compared the results of using Handbrake and Compressor to produce the video posted on this web page. Handbrake completed the task in far less time and significantly reduced the video file size without sacrificing quality:

    Using Compressor: 9.8 mb
    Using Handbrake: 2.8 mb

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.