Where does Office 2011 store user templates?


From today’s mail bag:

I’m running Snow Leopard and recently installed Microsoft Office 2011 on my Mac. I had been using Office 2004 and was used to finding my customized templates stored in the Applications folder. I have more than one Mac and have an occasional need to copy templates from one machine to another. Where does Office 2011 store the templates that I create?

In Office 2011, you will find your templates located several folders deep inside your home folder. The path is /Users/home/Library/Applications Support/Microsoft/Office/User Templates/My Templates. The following screenshot shows the path.

Remember that if you’re running Lion (Mac OS X 10.7), the user’s Library folder is hidden by default. To temporary reveal the Library folder, hold the Option key and click the Go menu from a Finder menu.

2 responses to “Where does Office 2011 store user templates?”

  1. Where does Office 2011 store user templates? Macsolvers' Blog was added to my own bookmarks. I can not wait to read even more about this topic.

  2. This does not work for me. I have a mac with the latest operating system i believe its snow leopard. Under application support their is no Microsoft. Under a different library there is a microsoft under application support but nothing about user templates. there is a folder called user templates else where on the computer but it is blocked from being opened. Can anyone tell me how to get to “my template” for ms office on MY computer configuration?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.