Reasons why you might want to run an unsupported OS like Windows XP


Windows XP logoAlthough Microsoft officially ended support for Windows XP in 2014, you may have a perfectly good reason for staying with this OS for a while longer. For instance, you may be put off by the user interface of Windows 10 and just don’t want to go through the hassle and cost of a system upgrade. I have my own reasons why I’m still running XP on my Mac.

While I use Mac OS X for 90% of my daily work, I run Windows XP Professional in a virtual machine (Parallels) setup for several reasons:

1. Years ago, I installed a third-party software program that is locked to that XP install. I can’t move it to another Windows virtual machine without buying another license which I’m reluctant to do because of the cost.

2. The other Windows apps I use regularly (QuickBooks and CrazyTalk) are fully supported under XP. Using Parallels 11, I can assign two processors and 3 gigs of RAM to my XP virtual machine and CrazyTalk (a 2D animation tool) doesn’t bog down when I’m rendering sequences.

3. I own a discontinued yet perfectly functional Canon Lide 80 scanner that is no longer supported in OS X or Windows 7 or above but runs fine under XP.

4. As a rule, I don’t surf the Internet or send or receive emails from Windows, so my risk of Windows viruses and spyware is minimal (Windows anti-virus software is installed as a precaution, nevertheless).

I configured Parallels so that my Windows documents are saved to shared folders on the Mac side of my computer. I also implemented the registry hack described in a post on ZDnet that allows me to receive security updates for XP until April 9, 2019.

Source: Registry hack enables continued updates for Windows XP, by Larry Seltzer, May 26, 2014, http://zd.net/TRaW4H

To apply the hack, which makes the system look like Windows Embedded POSReady 2009, create a text file with a .reg extension and the contents below:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\WPA\PosReady]
“Installed”=dword:00000001

Run the script by double-clicking it in Windows Explorer. Afterward, when you run Windows Update, it should find one or more updates.

Moral: If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Third Party Software, Windows on a Mac

Leave a Reply

