Is usereg.exe a Windows virus and will it infect my Mac?


Usereg.exe screenshotCustomer says, I’ve got this old Cannon scanner that I’m running in Windows XP using VirtualBox on my Mac. When I start up XP, I see something on my desktop I don’t recognize called usereg.exe. What is this file? Does it contain a virus? If not, is it safe to remove?

My response
What you are noticing is a user registration file that is linked to your scanner. It tells your scanner software application that your hardware device is properly installed and registered for use. The exe file is needed in order to run your scanner and should not be deleted from Windows. I trust that answers your question.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mail Bag, Third Party Software, Troubleshooting, Viruses and Spam, Windows on a Mac

Leave a Reply

