How do I fix a SiteLock code 15 error?


sitelock logoWas temporarily stumped by a security restriction placed on one of my WordPress.org websites. As the site admin, I could add a new page or publish a blog post, but I couldn’t update specific sections that have to be modified from the WordPress dashboard, such as the copyright date shown in the footer. An deceptively simple procedure solved the problem.

This other website of mine is configured with a SiteLock firewall to protect against denial-of-service attacks and malware. Imagine my surprise when I recently tried to modify my social media settings and change the copyright date shown in the footer and was confronted with the following popup message:

yourwebsite dot com
owner has denied your access to the site.

SiteLock Incident ID [string of 18 numbers]-[string of 20 numbers]
Your IP Address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Proxy IP 192.xxx.xxx.xxx
Proxy ID 99999
Server IP X.X.X.254
Error Code 15
Error Name Security error (code 15)
Error Description This request was blocked by the security rules

A series of phone calls to SiteLock support failed to resolve the issue. I couldn’t understand why I as the WordPress admin couldn’t make the edit changes that I wanted to implement. I rebooted the computer several times and tried logging in using different browsers and none of those steps got rid of the error 15 message. Then, out of desperation, I decided to log into the site using my backup admin account. Lo and behold! The popup error failed to appear and I was allowed to make the changes to my site.

CONCLUSION

There is a useful tip that can be gleaned from this case if you are a webmaster or administrator of a WordPress.org site, even if you are not using SiteLock. If a firewall or piece of security software is preventing you from making edit changes using the WordPress dashboard, try creating a backup admin account and log into the site using that account. If my tip is helpful to you, please feel free to leave a comment below this post.

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging tips, security, Third Party Software, Troubleshooting

One response to “How do I fix a SiteLock code 15 error?

  1. xxx

    My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year
    and am worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

