OS X 10.8 fixes a Yosemite printer problem


Epson SP 2200 printer setupThe printer that I use is an Epson Stylus Pro 2200. I recently dealt with a problem where the printer suddenly stopped working in Yosemite OS X 10.10. From the App Store menu, I had downloaded and installed the latest set of Epson drivers on Feb. 21. With the printer turned on and connected to the USB port, I kept getting the following messages: Communication error: Printer is offline. The problem was persistent, even after I changed cables and connected the printer to a different port. I tried resetting the printing system, and that only served to remove my entire set of installed printers. Afterward, when I attempted to add back the driver using the Printers & Scanners pane in System Preferences, Yosemite could not locate the device.

A fix for the printer problem came from an unexpected source. One of my external hard drives contains a bootable 10.8 system that I use to run older applications that are unsupported in either Mavericks or Yosemite. When I booted up OS X 10.8, the operating system immediately recognized the presence of the Epson printer and prompted me to download and install the drivers. Once that process was completed, I tested the device by successfully printing a few documents. I then restarted my Mac to return to Yosemite. This time, the Printers & Scanners pane in Yosemite listed the Epson device as installed and it was no longer offline. I was back in business. To complete the recovery process, I repaired permissions using Disk Utility, which corrected a number of errors as noted in the log file (revealed by selecting Show Log from Disk Utility’s Window menu).

=== Display starts at offset 353,221,144 within file of length 353,349,144. ==
=== Use File->Reload (Cmd-R) to display more. ==
2015-02-23 11:41:54 -0800: Permissions differ on “Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/EPSON LP-2200.gz”; should be -rw-rw-r– ; they are -rw-r–r– .
2015-02-23 11:41:54 -0800: Repaired “Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/EPSON LP-2200.gz”
2015-02-23 11:41:54 -0800: Permissions differ on “Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/EPSON PM-2200C.gz”; should be -rw-rw-r– ; they are -rw-r–r– .
2015-02-23 11:41:54 -0800: Repaired “Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/EPSON PM-2200C.gz”
2015-02-23 11:41:55 -0800: Permissions differ on “Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/EPSON Stylus Photo 2200.gz”; should be -rw-rw-r– ; they are -rw-r–r– .
2015-02-23 11:41:55 -0800: Repaired “Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/EPSON Stylus Photo 2200.gz”

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple Software, Third Party Hardware, Troubleshooting

Leave a Reply

