Upgrading MAMP to v2.1.1, MySQL won’t start


I use MAMP to test drive WordPress.org sites locally before I deploy them publicly. If you encounter a MySQL error when upgrading MAMP, here’s a simple fix.

I had been running MAMP 2.0.5 and decided to upgrade to the latest release v2.1.1. I left the old folder in place and performed the installation. All went well until I launched the program for the first time. While the Apache server started normally, MySQL would not. In checking the error log, I noted the following

130111 15:40:50 [Warning] Can’t create test file /Applications/MAMP/db/mysql/COMPUTER_NAME.lower-test
/Applications/MAMP/Library/bin/mysqld: Can’t change dir to ‘/Applications/MAMP/db/mysql/’ (Errcode: 2)

Doing a Google search, I found several articles related to those error messages. By changing folder permissions to 775 or 777, I still wasn’t able to get MySQL to start. Out of the blue, I decided to wipe out the new install, rename the old MAMP folder (to MAMP_old), then try the 2.1.1 install again. This time both Apache and MySQL started normally.

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's Activities

Leave a Reply

