Fix for missing Mail folder messages


From today’s mail bag:

Something’s gone wrong with my Apple Mail program. When I try and view my folders, nothing shows up. I know many of my emails reside in my custom folders as I see numbers next to them. However, when I click on the folders, I don’t see my messages. I need to access my archived emails asap. Any suggestions?

Mail folder hierarchy

In Mail, select the folders with missing messages and select Mailbox > Rebuild.

Rebuild Mail folders

26 Comments

Filed under Apple Software, Email, Mail Bag, Troubleshooting

26 responses to “Fix for missing Mail folder messages

  1. Kimberee

    Thank You, checking and unchecking the ‘Enable” brought all my folders back!!! Yippee!

  2. Scott H.

    I had a folder full of messages where I could see the subjects/dates/sizes etc. but as soon as I clicked on one, the contents were empty. I tried Rebuild… instead if bringing back the missing messages, it completely deleted them (i.e. now even the list of them is gone). So use Rebuild with caution!

    • admin

      Thanks for the feedback – it’s unfortunate that menu functions don’t alway complete smoothly or as expected. Doing regular backups using a tool like Time Machine may help when issues like this happen unexpectedly.

Leave a Reply

