Pinnion’s poll-taking plugin for WordPress


Spent time recently looking for a WordPress plugin that I could use to solicit reader opinions on behalf of a client of mine. While dozens of survey-taking plugins for WordPress exist, I sought one that was relatively inexpensive, easy to configure, and could display poll results along a narrow sidebar measuring 200 pixels. It was latter criteria that was the most challenging to fulfill.

The free versions of Polldaddy and SurveyMonkey are two tools I’ve used in the past to set up online polls. While SurveyMonkey is easy to configure and there are lots of helpful templates on its website, the width of its survey window is way too wide to fit in a typical WordPress sidebar. On the other hand, I would have no problem using SurveyMonkey on a WordPress post or page.

During my research, I wanted to see I could find a plugin that was comparable or superior to Polldaddy. After rejecting several candidates that I thought were too difficult to configure, I located a promising plugin called Pinnion that’s currently available as a beta product.

Setup was simple and straighforward. All I had to do was register for a free user account on Pinnion’s website and enter my poll questions and suggested answers in the tabbed configuration windows.

I found Pinnion’s tech support to be exemplary. During my testing phase, I submitted several requests for help by clicking the Need Assistance tab located in the WordPress administration sidebar and received prompt replies every time.

Pinnion Need Assistance tab

Despite Pinnion’s best efforts at providing assistance, I could not get the poll results to display the descriptive text associated with each answer along my client’s WordPress sidebar.

Sample Pinnion poll results screen

In the end, I installed the Polldaddy plugin on my client’s website. Nevertheless, I believe Pinnion has great potential, and will definitely keep them in mind, the next time I need to add a poll to a WordPress site.

10 Comments

Filed under Blogging tips, Polls, Third Party Software

10 responses to “Pinnion’s poll-taking plugin for WordPress

  1. Pingback: Pinnion's poll-taking plugin for WordPress | Macsolvers' Blog : HotWpPlugin.com

  2. Hi Dale,
    Thanks for giving Pinnion a try and I apologize for the trouble with the “descriptive text” in the results. It’s related to how the results are displayed in Firefox and we are working on a fix. I encourage you or your readers to leave a comment here with any other questions or feedback regarding Pinnion.

    • Happy to say that the issue you found with the answer results has been corrected. The descriptive text should appear correctly in all major browsers now.

      • admin

        Thanks, Barry, for your feedback and support regarding Pinnion. Will give this another go-around the next time I confer with this client.

  3. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a variety of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

    • admin

      missold ppi: While I’ve never installed or used blogengine, you may be in luck, based on what I found on the BlogEngine.NET discussion board:

      rpk2006 Mar 7 at 2:34 AM: I want to import WordPress posts to BlogEngine. Is there any way to do this?

      starvingwebdev Mar 7 at 5:18 AM: Hey, I just went through this, here is what I did…

      Downloaded WordPress BlogML Export 1.0a located at:
      http://blogml.codeplex.com/releases/view/171

      Replaced my export.php with the “above” downloaded one. Exported the posts (I noticed that it did export all of the post revisions, which can be a lot. Removed extra posts or duplicates. Imported the xml file through the Import/Export option in the BE admin.

  4. I will right away grab your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • admin

      At this time I do not have an email subscription link or e-newsletter. Those are options that are under consideration within the restraints of my other work projects.

  5. Was curious if you would be interested in updating this story. Pinnion is really developing a lot of customization features to suit needs like you mentioned, and we’d love for you to take a second look.

    Not trying to advertise the product here, would really like to talk offline and explain some of the advance features we have added. Hope you might take a second look.

    • admin

      Right now I’m working on several time-sensitive projects. When I have a free block of time, I’ll revisit the Pinnion plugin and consider updating my earlier report.

Leave a Reply

