Importing iPhone 4 video into FCP 7


Last weekend I shot several short sequences at an out-of-town recreational event with my iPhone 4 (not 4S). In researching the best way to ingest the video material into Final Cut Pro 7, I uncovered the following tip on the Apple Support Communities site:

Re: Ingesting iPhone 4 720p HD video into FCP 7
Latest reply: Aug 6, 2010

Poster “Meg the Dog” mentioned that iPhone 4 records its videos as H.264, which is a problematic codec when editing with FCP. Meg recommended converting iPhone videos to Apple ProRes 422 (LT) using the free utility called MPEG Streamclip.

Below are the recommended settings I used to convert my videos:
Apple ProRes 422 (LT)
Quality 100%
1280×720
Deinterlaced video

And here is a comparison of the video files, before-and-after conversion:
(38.1 mb) 150.5 mb, 29 sec
(94.0 mb) 364.4 mb, 74 sec
(30.1 mb) 113.7 mb, 23 sec

From this informal experiment, I determined that the raw videos I shoot with my iPhone 4 will increase in size by almost 400% before I edit them in FCP. If you shoot with an iPhone 4S, this percentage increase will be higher.

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple Hardware, Apple Software, Video

Leave a Reply

