Using Time Machine with Drobo FS


I consult several home and small business clients whose data backup requirements exceed more than what a single, secondary hard drive can provide. I am a Data Robotics Business Partner who recently bought a Drobo FS storage system to test on my office LAN. Click below to read my analysis of the Drobo FS that I emailed to one of my customers.

The Drobo FS storage system is ideal for enabling multiple computer users to back up their data to a single network attached storage device using Time Machine. You’ll get the best performance if all your Ethernet cabling is either Cat 5e or Cat 6 and your networked computers can communicate over a gigabit LAN. While it is also possible to maintain your master iPhoto, iTunes, or Aperture library on the Drobo itself, the time it takes to open the file will be markedly slower than if the library is stored locally. 

What I particularly like about the Drobo FS unit is that it is very easy to set up using a Mac utility that comes with the package. I have four 1TB drives in my Drobo and the system can still function if one of the drives fails. It provides data redundancy using proprietary RAID technology. There are five drive bays in the Drobo FS and I could add another hard drive (of any size, by-the-way) to increase the available storage capacity. It’s hot-swappable, which means in layman’s terms that I can add another hard drive while the Drobo is turned on.

Resources
Copper or Fiber? What’s the real story? Fiber Optic Assn – Tech Topics
Making the Transition to Gigabit Ethernet WindowsNetworking.com

2 Comments

Filed under Third Party Hardware

2 responses to “Using Time Machine with Drobo FS

  1. Hi!

    I’ve had the Drobo Pro and sold it to get a solution that would make it possible for us to use timemachine on 5 Mac-computers on the same Drobo.

    As I see it, this is not possible with the original Drobo Pro as it seems only to handle ONE computer / Timemachine.

    As I read your post, it seems that I can use the Drobo FS as receiver of TimeMachine backup from several Mac-computers.

    Right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

