Snow Leopard bug: Finder can’t be opened


The other day, I couldn’t open any Finder windows and use my Mac in a normal manner after I Force Quit a stalled data transfer to an external hard drive. Mac OS X 10.6.4 greeted me with a “Finder can’t be opened -10810” message – an error that many Snow Leopard users have had to deal with since the OS was released.

After some experimentation, I finally stabilized my system and restored normal access to the Finder by performing a simple and basic diagnostic procedure: deleting the com.apple.finder.plist file in my Preferences folder and rebooting. A poster on the Apple Discussion Board named Mick536 reported that he fixed the identical problem on his Mac using this method.

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple Software, Troubleshooting

Leave a Reply

