Soundtrack Pro hangs while starting up


Last night I temporarily lost the ability to run Soundtrack Pro from my Mac. The problem occurred after I noticed in one of my editing sessions that I could not save changes to an audio file. The only thing I could do was force quit the app.

When I subsequently tried to launch Soundtrack Pro, the splash screen remained on the screen indefinitely and I couldn’t use any of the standard menu options to open or edit any files.

Moreover, Console.app displayed a number of cryptic log messages.

7/27/10 11:52:42 PM Soundtrack Pro[865] *** Assertion failure in -[MultitrackDocument windowControllerDidLoadNib:], /SourceCache/SoundtrackProProject/SoundtrackProProject-703/fireball/Application/Sources/LoopDocument.m:599

7/27/10 11:52:42 PM Soundtrack Pro[865] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: ‘Invalid parameter not satisfying: m_mainWindow’ invoked observer method: ‘*** -[LoopAppController applicationDidFinishLaunching:]’ observer: 0x1a803b0 notification name: ‘NSApplicationDidFinishLaunchingNotification’

7/27/10 11:55:34 PM Soundtrack Pro[926] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: ‘Invalid parameter not satisfying: m_mainWindow’ invoked observer method: ‘*** -[LoopAppController applicationDidFinishLaunching:]’ observer: 0x1a7fae0 notification name: ‘NSApplicationDidFinishLaunchingNotification’

7/28/10 12:06:09 AM [0x0-0x3a03a].com.apple.soundtrackpro[1002] Wed Jul 28 00:06:09 MYMAC.local Soundtrack Pro[1002] : kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSOrderWindowListWithGroups: invalid window ID (967)

7/28/10 12:06:09 AM [0x0-0x3a03a].com.apple.soundtrackpro[1002] Wed Jul 28 00:06:09 MYMAC.local Soundtrack Pro[1002] : kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSOrderWindowList: NULL list pointer or empty list

7/28/10 12:06:09 AM [0x0-0x3a03a].com.apple.soundtrackpro[1002] Wed Jul 28 00:06:09 MYMAC.local Soundtrack Pro[1002] : kCGErrorFailure: Set a breakpoint @ CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are logged.

7/28/10 12:06:09 AM Soundtrack Pro[1002] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSOrderWindowListWithGroups: invalid window ID (967)

During the troubleshooting process, I copied a known good copy of Soundtrack Pro from my backup drive to my Mac’s Applications folder and found that the copied program wouldn’t launch, either. I also learned that repairing disk permissions, deleting the two Soundtrack Pro property lists from my Library folder, and restarting the Mac had no effect.

com.apple.soundtrackpro.plist
com.apple.soundtrackpro.LSSharedFileList.plist

I then switched to another user account on my Mac and noticed that I was able to open the program normally. That’s when I knew that the start-up problem was due to corruption that was isolated to my Soundtrack Pro user account.

I restarted the Mac in safe mode by holding down the Shift key. Safe mode is a standard troubleshooting technique that can fix some problems by clearing out corrupt cache files. When I tried to launch Soundtrack Pro while running in safe mode, I received a screen message that the program wouldn’t run because it didn’t have access to a minimum amount (64 mb) of video RAM, which was disabled.

Undaunted, I restarted the Mac in a normal manner and logged in using my regular user account. This time, Soundtrack Pro opened normally and I was able to resume my editing work.

8 Comments

Filed under Apple Software, Audio, Troubleshooting

8 responses to “Soundtrack Pro hangs while starting up

  1. pranav

    what can we do for that

Leave a Reply

