Fix for SoftRAID 4.0 bug


SoftRAID is a third-party application that offers more features than what Apple includes in Mac OS X in managing RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks) 0 and 1 systems. The software vendor recently announced the release of version 4.0 of SoftRAID. After installing the program, I ran into a software bug that prevented me from starting the app on my Snow Leopard Mac.

I found that the program stopped responding after it asked for my admin password. It would sit there and not allow me to access any of the SoftRAID menu items, which were grayed out. No items relating to SoftRAID appeared in Console. On the other hand, I checked Activity Monitor and noted that both the SoftRAID app and SoftRAID Tool appeared as active processes. All I could do was Force Quit the application.

I contacted tech support at SoftRAID and received a reply that the problem could be fixed by entering this command in Terminal (admin account and password required):

sudo update_dyld_shared_cache -force

After entering this command in Terminal, I was able to start SoftRAID in a normal manner.

1 Comment

Filed under Third Party Software, Troubleshooting

One response to “Fix for SoftRAID 4.0 bug

  1. SF

    Thanks for this. I just had the same problem. I am afraid that such little glitches with applications that are potentially lethal to file systems and data don’t really encourage them being used…

Leave a Reply

