What to do if your iTunes gift certificate doesn’t reach its recipient


Christmas has just come and gone. This year, I chose to give my roommate an iTunes gift certificate. I figured that this gift would be well received and relatively simple to implement. Little did I realize that my roommate would have to jump through a few hoops to complete the transaction.

First of all, she did not receive an email confirmation from iTunes concerning the gift certificate that I bought. I contacted iTunes support who confirmed that I had purchased the certificate. The support rep also sent these instructions to give to my roommate to help her obtain her gift.

1). Make sure you’re using the latest (9.0) version of iTunes.

iTunes can be downloaded free of charge from the Apple website at this URL.

2). Click here to launch the Redeem page inside the iTunes application.

An alternative way to reach the Redeem page is to launch the iTunes Store from within the application, then click the Redeem link in the Quick Links sidebar.

3) Copy your gift code and paste it into the Redeem code entry box:

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ (not a real code)

4) Click the Redeem button.

These instructions, however, were insufficient. My roommate still could not access the iTunes Music Store because her installed copy of Safari was older than version 4.0.3.

I installed Safari 4.0.4 on her behalf and then ran into another error message: her laptop lacked a recent Apple Security Update for Mac OS X 10.4.11. After completing these software upgrades, my roommate was finally able to redeem her gift certificate and receive credit for the amount of my purchase.

1 Comment

Filed under Apple Software, Audio

One response to “What to do if your iTunes gift certificate doesn’t reach its recipient

  1. Pingback: What to do if your iTunes gift certificate doesn't reach its … | I AM OSX

Leave a Reply

