Can’t access database running on FileMaker Server


This week I responded to a service call from the office manager of a small doctor’s office who suddenly was unable to access patients’ data stored on a FileMaker database running on an OS X server. When I was last onsite several months ago, I had set up the server to auto-logon with the admin user account. For reasons unknown, the server went offline and it took several tries for the office manager to re-authenticate. At close of business Thursday she remarked that she was able to reopen the client database on the server. However, she and another staff member couldn’t access the database from their workstations. She stated that when she tried to open the database from her iMac that she received an ODMS launcher error.

In researching the problem, I installed FileMaker 8 Server and FileMaker 8 Pro on my server and FileMaker 8 Pro on my laptop. As instructed by the FileMaker Install Guide, I opened ports 5003, 50003, and 50006 on my router. In configuring FileMaker to run on my server, I opened one of the database templates and turned on Network and ODBC/JDBC Sharing via the Sharing dropdown menu.

fm_sample_database
fm_network_settings
fm_odbc_settings

After installing FileMaker on my laptop, I successfully accessed the server database using the Open Remote menu option.

fm_open_remote_file

On Monday I will pay a visit to the client’s office to implement my solution to the problem.

1 Comment

Filed under Apple Software, Databases, Troubleshooting

One response to “Can’t access database running on FileMaker Server

  1. Visit this link for a possible solution to your FileMaker Remote Access issue.
    http://www.macusa.net/FMPBugReport.cfm

Leave a Reply

