Working with AVCHD video


I recently shot some test footage using the Canon VIXIA HF100, which records on flash memory cards in AVCHD format. Afterwards, I addressed the task of downloading the footage from the memory card to my external hard drive that I use for editing. I have been used to importing Standard Definition video from my tape deck using a firewire connection. Using information posted on the following web page, I used iMovie ’08 as my conversion tool that allowed me to save a 14 minute test clip as an Apple Intermediate Codec file on my hard drive that Final Cut Pro can understand.

http://tinyurl.com/6bhshu

Using iMovie ’08, I encountered the following dialog screens:


Here are the specs of my data trasnfer:

Filesize: 5.6 GB
Clip length: 13:52
Video Resolution: 960×540
QuickTime Movie

2 Comments

Filed under Apple Software, Third Party Hardware, Video

2 responses to “Working with AVCHD video

  1. ROSS

    Are this story finished? What points are you going to make?

  2. Leaving on a business trip tomorrow and will provide further commentary upon my return.

Leave a Reply

