Do I need special software for my APC UPS?


From today’s mail bag:

I installed the APC software on the Mac side, but when I try to open it there, I get a notification that the APC preference pane will not work on an Intel-based Mac. However, during a recent outage when a sprinkler repairmen suddenly shut off our power, the battery backup worked. Its software was obviously installed on the Mac side, but I don’t remember whether it was also installed on the Windows side. Do I need to install it on the Windows side or do I need a new backup system?

3 Comments

Filed under Apple Software, Mail Bag, Third Party Hardware, Third Party Software

3 responses to “Do I need special software for my APC UPS?

  1. The Mac doesn’t need APC’s software and you don’t need to install a separate program for Windows. The UPS backup software is built into OS X. To view the UPS configuration, launch System Preferences and select the Energy Saver pane. Click the up and down arrow next to the item called “Settings for” and choose UPS from the drop-down menu. Afterwards, click the Show Details button in the lower left corner of the window to reveal the UPS settings that you can modify.

  2. Is there an updated version of APC’s “Powerchute” software for Mac OS 10.6.x/10.7.x?

Leave a Reply

