Converting mp4’s using QuickTime X


A client asked me to submit a cost estimate to produce a short video from a series of screen captures saved as mp4’s. When I attempted to convert the movies using QuickTime Pro 7, I was greeted with the following error message: “An invalid public movie atom was found in the movie.”

Invalid public movie atom error


I use OS X 10.6.8 to produce videos. On my Mac I’ve installed a couple of movie file converters, including ffmpegX and MPEG Streamclip – neither of which could open or convert the mp4’s. Compressor, which is installed with the Final Cut Pro suite, wouldn’t open the file, either. Searching online, I found a thread posted on an Apple Support Communities page that the error occurs because both QuickTime 7 and Compressor do not support 64-bit Times.

Rather than ask my client to redo the 800×600 screen captures (he uses a Windows PC), I opened the same movies using QuickTime Player 10, which is also installed on my machine. Sure enough, I found I could convert the files into 480p format (720p would have been overkill because of the screen capture dimensions) using the drop-down menu from the File > Save As screen.

QuickTime Player 10 Save As HD 480p

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple Software, Troubleshooting, Video

Leave a Reply

