How much disk space does Mountain Lion take up?


While I’m not planning to immediately switch to Mountain Lion as my main system, I do want to take it for a spin, so I went out and installed a copy that I bought from the App Store. Having read on various websites that the OS X 10.8 installer (InstallESD.dmg) is automatically removed from the computer upon installation, I made sure to make a backup copy first using the Show Package Contents drop-down menu.

Because of limited disk space on my startup drive (which can boot up in either Snow Leopard or Lion), I opted to create a small partition just under 20 gb to host my new Mountain Lion system. The download took about an hour over my wireless network, while the actual installation process took under 30 minutes to complete. After filling in the obligatory setup screens, I rebooted my Mac and took my first peek at the Mountain Lion desktop, whose background image resembles the default graphic found in Lion. I then ran Get Info in a Finder window to determine how much disk storage is used by Mountain Lion. I learned that the installation took up 13 gb of space.

Mountain Lion's Get Info dialog box after installation

4 Comments

Filed under Apple Hardware, Apple Software

4 responses to “How much disk space does Mountain Lion take up?

  1. Kevin

    Do you know how much storage I would lose if I upgraded to Mountain Lion? I have a small HD and I wanted to see if the new features in ML would outweigh the storage loss.

  2. admin

    I have a Lion partition that contains very little user data and no custom apps, so it might suffice for answering your question. When performing GetInfo on this Lion setup, I noticed that the OS and apps were using just under 18 gb, net of the Mountain Lion installer which takes up 4.37 gb. If this is true, then you’d actually be using less disk space by switching to Mountain Lion.

    Click here to view screenshot showing free space on a bare-bones, Mac OS X 10.7.4 system.

  3. Rich Davis

    You can also make is smaller if you take out the language support for everything other than the language you need as the language of choice. I’m sure some languages take up more or less than others. But that’s a way to trim it down, plus you can also take out some printer drivers that you don’t need. There are ways to make it even less.

Leave a Reply

